Pudge

The oldest cat in my Parents house is, or rather was, Pudge. He was there long before I was adopted into their family and he is the type of cat to touch the hearts of everyone who met him. He was loving in nature, at times needy, but always an earthbound angel.

He would crawl into whatever lap was available during family time and make himself comfortable. He felt like dead weight most of the time, and there were occasions we had to check his breathing because he slept so soundly, so comfortably in the safety of his Kingdom. We may have been the lead mammals in the house, but he was King. We were his subjects, us humans and the other cats.

He was the best snuggler, wanted or not. He knew how to make you smile, his long gray multicolored hair shimmering, because even when he was dirty, he still looked beautiful. He was truly the most amazing cat. And like all cats, he proved to me that every living creature has a different personality. But sadly, all good things must come and go.

I live very far away from my family up in Spokane and away from the kitties, so I was dismayed when The Odd Little Brother posted on facebook that Had been missing since Thursday. Last Thursday. I hoped against hope that may he was just stuck in a garage nearby. But in true cat fashion, it’s believed that he went off to pass from this life. He said his goodbye and loved on the Little One, and then left. I wasn’t there to say my goodbyes, but I’m sure he knew I loved him. That’s what I tell myself.

With hopes, he has gone to heaven and is nestled on Our ever loving father’s lap, snoozing contentedly.  Because Heaven is the only place a cat such as Pudge could have gone.

2 thoughts on “Pudge

  1. That was very beautiful, Kassie. Pudge was a unique cat, a one-in-a-lifetime cat. I knew when he woke out of a sound sleep in the early hours of the morning last Thursday that it was time. I’d suspected for a while that his time was coming to a close, but no one wants to think about death looming around the corner. But that morning I knew, just by his frantic meows. Since it was doubtful Timmy fell down the well, I figured something from another realm was calling him. He walked the house, seeing everybody he loved, before asking to go outside. The last I saw of him was outside my bedroom window as he jumped up out of the window well and looked back one last time before trotting off.

    I wish he would have stayed to die in my arms, but while Pudge seemed human enough at times, he was still an animal and ruled by animal instincts, which prompted him, I’m sure, to find a cozy hole somewhere to die in peace and seclusion.

    My heart is broken. I don’t want another cat–at least for a long, long time. None–not even Silly–can match that relationship I had with that damn cat.

    I know a lot of people say animals have no souls and therefore don’t go to heaven. I don’t believe that. Pudge had a great capacity for love–just a few weeks ago we saw him in the lap of some guy who was sitting in the neighbor’s driveway texting, a virtual stranger to us, but Pudge liked him–and I think that capacity for love comes directly from our Creator. God would not put that kind of selfless love into a soulless being.

    • Mama, that made me cry. I think that Pudge definitely went to Heaven. Because if there were no other cats to go to Heaven, he would be the one to an angel and snuggle him until he just couldn’t resist. Like I said, I’m sure he’s nestled deep in God’s lap, purring his happiness in his super odd way that he purred.

Leave a Reply

